Skip to content
September 1, 2008 / ilegirl

So Shoe Me

I was reading Brit’s post the other day about the adjustment he experienced after emigrating from the UK to California, where most businesses outside of the financial sector tend toward the business casual model:  khaki trousers, shirts, loafers.  It is a sort of uniform here in the same manner the dress trousers, collared shirt with tie, jacket and polished Oxfords were for him in England.  Many other states in the union are beginning to loosen up a bit and adopt this type of casual workplace dress code.

But style is very personal, and the personal is public here in California.  We tend to wear our beliefs and predilections literally on our sleeves, as well as adhered to our vehicles and tatooed upon our flesh.  Wearing a uniform works well for men, whose apparel options are curiously less varied anyhow.  For women like myself, there is a certain attraction to the uniform as a means of introducing simplicity to a life that is filled with complexity.  And yet that wild and imaginative spirit inside of me hollers for expression in the superficial portrait I place out in the world where I work.

Today as I thumbed through Lucky magazine, I saw examples of beautiful textiles, pretty cuts,  interesting pairings. I considered my personal style, and imagined how I might incorporate some of the ideas into my fall wardrobe.  I thought about the past seasons, when I have examined the magazines, or scanned the fashion sites online, and found myself engaged in the same day-dreams, which all ended unsatisfactorily.  I did not find the perfect wardrobe, I compromised my taste, and I often wore items of clothing that didn’t suit me but rather suited my work environment.  And in travelling through the past, I realized the source of my problem.

It’s all about shoes.

You see, I struggle with shoes.  I have pretty shoes, I wear pretty shoes, and then my feet are uncomfortable and my body is uncomfortable.  I wade through my closet searching for the perfect pairing, but without the shoes the cake can’t be iced, and so it just doesn’t taste quite as yummy.  I find myself falling into the male uniform:  khaki trousers, a shirt, a little jacket.

How do I extricate myself from this tragic conformity?  My style is naturally eclectic:  1930’s style wide-leg tailored trousers, kimono-sleeve blouses, Gal Friday jackets, A-line linen gored skirts with tailored blouses.  Deep inside, I am not the tank-top wearing woman I see in the mirror; I am in fact a tastefully chic chick frustrated by footwear.

It’s time for a fashion revolution in my closet.

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. SanityFound / Sep 1 2008 10:42 pm

    *does loopy dance* this is so exciting just don’t tell Amber bout the shoes cause you said you weren’t buying anymore in a previous post… she’ll bust you… do it quick while she is away! and can I come with???

  2. ilegirl / Sep 2 2008 6:21 am

    Well you see, I have a bunch of uncomfortable shoes and a shortage of comfortable pairs. So I do need to round out the shoe wardrobe.

    Yep, shoetainly you may join me.

  3. SanityFound / Sep 3 2008 1:49 am

    Oooo what a perfect excuse, hmm think I am going to have to keep note of that one to use sooner rather than later – perhaps when we go shoe hunting?

    Lol nutter

  4. Amber / Sep 4 2008 6:19 am

    Honey, I think we should have a shoe powow. There are alot of companies now like aerosols that do cute shoes that are comfy too. Naturalizer etc. I think you and I need to do a scouting trip to do you a new shoe wardrobe. I actually went through that very thing years ago. Notice how I always wear the wedge type heels? That is because my feet are comfy in them and my body feels comfy in them.

    I saw shoe shopping… since you will soon become a football widow?

  5. SanityFound / Sep 4 2008 8:27 am

    “alot of companies now like aerosols” <– there is a company called WHAT?

  6. mssc54 / Sep 4 2008 6:51 pm

    Tatoos… that’s your answer. Have your feet tatooed to look like your favorite pair of shoes then you can just wear flip-flops and be ever so comfortable. 😉

  7. ilegirl / Sep 4 2008 10:28 pm

    Yeah, nice idea but I have a thing about having my feet touched. Even my husband is not allowed!

    I think I just have to face it – I am cursed to have to go shoe shopping. 😉

  8. Amber / Sep 5 2008 6:27 am

    lol @ cursed….

Leave a Reply

