Skip to content
February 2, 2011 / ilegirl

I’ll give it a shot …

This photo was taken after a long day at work, and the ensemble isn’t overly wrinkled or gnarled in unseemly ways.  It’s comfortable and suited the busy workday just fine.  I like that the stripes show through the sweater, and that the cute charm necklace stands out against the ivory.  And it was warm, which is important in the frigid office where I work.  Brrr!

The vest was a cool find (thanks, Dashing Eccentric!).  I received a sweet compliment from a gal at work who said the color matches my eyes.  It really doesn’t, but what a nice thing to hear!

The downside to the outfit is that it’s kind of bland.  The trousers don’t accentuate my waistline very well, and the sweater seems to just add bulk.  There’s a really cute vintage belt under there too, which was sadly hidden all day.  So while this is doable in a pinch, on review I’d not characterize this as an overly flattering look.

Turtleneck : thrifted

Cashmere sweater: Macy’s, Charter Club

Vest: thrifted

Trousers: T.J. Maxx, forgotten brand (lost the tag during tailoring)

Belt: vintage, gifted from ileguy (can I call him that?) and customized by the local cobbler

Shoes:  Tsubo ‘Marni’

Charm necklace: gift

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Terri / Feb 3 2011 2:21 pm

    Hi, I’m here from tinyjunco’s blog! She steered you right on the sweater vest and I always love a pairing of green with grey. I’ll bet your eyes are actually hazel and tend to pick up on the colors you’re wearing.

  2. tiny junco / Feb 3 2011 4:11 pm

    well, i think it looks snazzy! if you want some waist, could you wear the belt over the ivory sweater and under the vest? i really like the way the stripes show too!

    by the way, your e-mail just about gave me a stroke…. *thanks* good lord. take care, steph

  3. ilegirl / Feb 3 2011 9:27 pm

    Hi Terri. Yes, my eyes are hazel-green – no brown, little gold. Green and grey are always a happy combo.

    Sorry Ms E – I guess the comment about me having ‘beheaded myself’ was a bit to the extreme. Yes, I could wear a belt over the sweater, but really I think the trousers are simply problematic. They just don’t fit to flatter, so they are relegated to the category of emergency clothes.

  4. tiny junco / Feb 4 2011 7:50 am

    ’emergency clothes’ – ha! a good name for a category we all know well.

    however, i’m trying to accumulate enuf ‘good clothes’ that i even have a few nice spares for emergencies….i’ll let you know how it works out. ( ? ) steph

    • ilegirl / Feb 5 2011 10:04 am

      That’s the ideal: have enough quality in one’s wardrobe so that even the fallback outfits reflect who we are, and are still comfortable. I’ve been weeding out the togs which are ‘all wrong’ in one way or another, but trousers are so hard to find in my size I’ve been hesitant to part with anything that doesn’t absolutely fall off of me.

Leave a Reply

