Skip to content
February 3, 2011 / ilegirl

Comfy outfit

This morning I pulled on this cute skirt which I hadn’t worn in a long, long time.

Despite the fact that it’s a size 2P, and I’m definitely not a 2P, it was far too large.  What is it about Ann Taylor sizes?

So I wore this instead:

… which was comfortable.  And a good thing, too, given that first thing this morning experienced a production crisis which generated some perspiration, then was holed up in meetings and a training class, then more meetings, until nearly 8 pm.  I’m tired!  But the dress held up all day without annoying me, so despite some stress and annoyance, and some mediocre catered food, I arrived home in one uncrumpled piece.

I like the jewelry.  Nothing precious, but all sweet and simple.

Unlike yesterday’s outfit, this one plays up the waistline well, so I felt more pulled together.  But still, there is something not quite satisfactory.  I’m not thrilled with the layering of the v-neck tee and the surplice neckline of the dress.  The tee neckline is too high, for one, and the fact that both pieces make a V is not interesting enough.  If the weather had been warmer, I would have opted for a cami underneath, one with a rounded neckline.

Interesting, to see the outfits in a more objective manner by posting them and writing about them.

Dress – Patagonia

Tee – thrifted

Tights – CVS (yep – the drug store!)

Boots – Nine West

Necklace – gift

Bracelet – gift (Brighton)

Earrings – The Science TeeCHER (they also have cool Atom dangles, and Infiniti symbol posts!)

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. tiny junco / Feb 4 2011 7:57 am

    a very nice look! great shape and i really like the colors together. do you think if you had like a snazzy belt or a ‘statement necklace’ or some other focus you mite like it more? and to me the tee neck reads as more rounded than than ‘vee’, so it doesn’t look ‘matchy’.

    “…outfits in a more objective manner…” it IS nice to have a different vantage point from which to check out our looks! but the camera has it’s own likes and dislikes, which i find don’t necessarily match up with ‘real life’. and i end up talking about that pretty regularly on the blog. i’ll be interested to hear your thots on that as you continue with your look shots! take care, steph

    • ilegirl / Feb 5 2011 10:14 am

      Thanks for the comments. Yes, the camera can be a foe yet it’s still helpful. I have this unaccountable difficulty, for example, with posture – I don’t have the innate ability to ‘feel’ whether I am standing straight. The pics help me to see and make adjustments, and one of my objectives is to pay attention enough to develop that sense.

      Maybe a necklace of more substance would help, or a patterned scarf. Now that I’m paying more attention to my ensembles, I’ve become aware that I tend toward color blocks, which is okay but a little dull. Dunno – will have to play around and see what evolves.

  2. Meraj / Feb 4 2011 10:58 pm

    me this series of yours ile 🙂

  3. Meraj / Feb 4 2011 11:00 pm

    i meant to say….’me liking this series of yours, ile :)’

Leave a Reply

