Skip to content
June 18, 2011 / ilegirl

Closet Dive! Part 3

As long as I can remember, green has been my favorite color.  However, as a child I received the hand-me-downs from 2 older sisters, neither of whom share my coloring, and neither of whom is particularly enamoured of green.  As a consequence, a lot of my clothes were navy blue.

Now in adulthood when I see a navy blue garment I inwardly recoil.

I have options and can wear green whenever I choose.  I typically veer toward a soft light green; the vest in the 2 variations below is a bit more saturated than is customary in my closet.  Still, it’s fun and versatile.  As is the skirt.  I don’t wear either piece enough, though I intend to change this.

The shoes are 4″ wedges I’ve owned for 2 years, and I’ve never actually worn them out of the house.  When the weather turns punishingly hot again next week, perhaps they will make their public debut.  And my hope is, I won’t topple down some stairs in the process.

Here’s a close-up on the bracelet – a fun find from a thrift shop.  This shot, too, provides a closer view of the skirt, which has a really cool abstract but organic pattern.

By the way, my affinity for the color green has roots.  My eyes are green, and everyone else in my family has brown eyes.  I was always rather the black sheep, and in a few key ways I internalized what seemed to me an indication of uniqueness.

 

Vest: Coldwater Creek (thrifted)

Skirt: Caslon (thrifted)

Polo: H&M

Blouse: Unknown – lost tag

Bracelet: thrifted

Sandals: Max Studio Cander

 

Leave a Reply

