Skip to content
July 23, 2011 / ilegirl

I’m on fire!

… but not particularly happy about it.  I sat in the sun enjoying live music at Pleasant Hill’s annual Blues and Brews Festival, and wore an above-the-knee skirt.  After this –

Ouch!

– I remembered why (in the past) I owned several longer, cotton skirts with prints inspired by India.  So at my husband’s urging I nipped out of the festival and headed over to Salvation Army’s thrift shop where I found this –

Ann Taylor Loft cotton tiered skirt with ruffles

– which looks pretty decent on despite having ruffles and lacking said Indian flavor.

I’m home and slathered with cooling agent at the moment, though was hoping to get back to the community park in time to enjoy The Tommy Castro Band, which I’ve never seen performing live.  Sigh.  Well, I’m sure there will be other fests, and I’m sadder but wiser about garb.

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. britinla / Jul 24 2011 7:35 am

    You made the same mistake that Raincloud did when I took her to see the A’s. Although she did not turn it into an opportunity to purchase clothes

  2. ilegirl / Jul 24 2011 9:19 am

    Hmm. I don’t understand. Every incident can be interpreted as an opportunity to acquire apparel. For example:
    Social flop at a party? Fancy new dress!
    Romantic woes? Something lacy and sweet!
    Blister on heel? New mules!

    And Raincloud calls herself a teenager! Perhaps this proves that with age comes wisdom.

  3. photokunstler / Jul 25 2011 9:30 am

    Ah, that means you don’t have enough Omega 3s in your body if you’re burning. You doing 2000-4000 mg a day of a nice small fish oil?

  4. ilegirl / Jul 25 2011 8:33 pm

    No fish oil. I’ll have to try that!

  5. photokunstler / Jul 26 2011 5:51 am

    Ah, it is an ESSENTIAL fatty acid, meaning you need it. Our body doesn’t need much other than lots of water and good food, but it does need – and every day – vitamin C, Omega 3s, and in dark winter months a good vitamin D – cod liver oil or D Drops.

    With sufficient Omega 3s you won’t burn, unless you sit in the sun nekkid for hours at the height of the day! Give it a try!

Leave a Reply

