Skip to content
August 14, 2011 / ilegirl

Fancy Pants redux

Sunday evening of a lovely weekend, and I’m easing myself into the thought of returning to work tomorrow.  So with a glass of Walnut Creek’s finest in hand, and fuzzy slippers on my feet, I think back to yesterday’s fun Fancy Pants outing.

 

I ran a bit late on Saturday morning as my printer goofed up while I was printing maps for those who might need the info (and of course, no one did!), but hey it was a weekend so no stress!  Or at least, that was my mantra when I was high tailing it over to Walnut Creek BART where I’d promised to pick up Ravina and whisk her off to the first stop, Leftovers.

My mom, both sisters and my youngest niece were already there, and everyone was in fine spirits.  I scored some good loot including a cute and practical linen blouse, and a white linen dress that I plan to wear as a cover-up during my upcoming anniversary long weekend in Hawaii next month.  Stephanie and Ravina both scored really cute dresses; in fact, the one Ravina ended up buying looked like it had been tailor-made to fit her.    Steph as always looked so pretty in a plaid version of the pattern she recently blogged about; I wish now that I’d taken a group shot!

Next stop was the Discovery Shop, which benefits the American Cancer Society.  They always seem to have great stuff, and here again I lucked out as I found a dressy raincoat and a long-sleeve grey tee.  It so happened that the shop was having a 50% off sale, so the prices were sweet!

My family had other afternoon obligations, so we parted ways after the second store just as another friend joined us.  We ate a light lunch at Silk Road, then headed over to the consignment shops.

Not much luck at either of these shops, but we had some laughs in the shoe section where Ravina tried on these 4″ heel platforms with her groovy scull socks, and the friend who joined us late commented to me, Wow, you’re feet are so wide!

Which reminded me of a conversation I had nearly 25 years ago at my wedding, when one of the guests came up to me – the glowing bride – gave me a hug and said, I had no idea how big your feet are until I saw you standing up there in those white shoes.

Ah … memories.

I was sorry that two friends were travelling and unable to join us.  I was sorry that another had to work, and that still another has been ailing for the past week and wasn’t quite well enough to join us.  But …

I’m already dreaming up the next outing.  And next time, I’ll take more pictures.

 

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. tiny junco / Aug 15 2011 7:56 am

    hello you……the most wonderful hostess i know!! we had a great great time, and you are awesome for arranging it! (p.s. Ravina mite need a closet dive – you in?)

    re: a conversation we had on the outing, your recent ‘Confessions’ post, and many other of our interactions. please read the linked post and tattoo it on your forearm:

    http://inkdot.tumblr.com/post/7243925631/no-shit

    here’s a substantial excerpt: “A friend of a friend won a free consultation with Clinton Kelly of What Not To Wear, and she was very excited, because she has a plus-size body, and wanted some tips on how to make the most of her wardrobe in a fashion culture which deliberately puts her body at a disadvantage.

    Her first question for him was this: how do celebrities make a plain white t-shirt and a pair of weekend jeans look chic? She always assumed it was because so many celebrities have, by nature or by design, very slender frames, and because they can afford very expensive clothing. But when she watched What Not To Wear, she noticed that women of all sizes ended up in cute clothes that really fit their bodies and looked great. She had tried to apply some guidelines from the show into her own wardrobe, but with only mixed success. So – what gives?

    His answer was that everything you will ever see on a celebrity’s body, including their outfits when they’re out and about and they just get caught by a paparazzo, has been tailored, and the same goes for everything on What Not To Wear. Jeans, blazers, dresses – everything right down to plain t-shirts and camisoles. He pointed out that historically, up until the last few generations, the vast majority of people either made their own clothing or had their clothing made by tailors and seamstresses. You had your clothing made to accommodate the measurements of your individual body, and then you moved the fuck on. Nothing on the show or in People magazine is off the rack and unaltered. He said that what they do is ignore the actual size numbers on the tags, find something that fits an individual’s widest place, and then have it completely altered to fit. That’s how celebrities have jeans that magically fit them all over, and the rest of us chumps can’t ever find a pair that doesn’t gape here or ride up or slouch down or have about four yards of extra fabric here and there.”

    no shit indeed. take care and pet widdle Sadie!!!!! steph

  2. ravinaschneider / Aug 15 2011 11:41 am

    Thanks again for hosting the meetup, it was so much fun! I can’t wait to wear that dress, it really is perfect! =)
    A closet dive would be really fun, I’m in!
    -Ravina

  3. photokunstler / Aug 15 2011 4:25 pm

    Interesting comment, steph!
    And ilegirl – yes, please, more photos next time!

  4. tiny junco / Aug 15 2011 7:31 pm

    hi photokunstler! well, we were all too busy yakking and shopping and having a great time!! three of us are bloggers and none of us ended up thinking of taking even a group shot. (naughty bloggers! heehee!) steph

  5. ilegirl / Aug 17 2011 6:03 pm

    Closet dive – sounds great!

    I had a good time and next time will try not to so that I remember to take some group pictures!

Leave a Reply

