Skip to content
January 29, 2012 / ilegirl

January’s Child

My sole purchase yesterday was an investment piece by Babette, purchased from Molly B.  It’s a mohair blend jacket with a smooth hand, slightly belled sleeves and a modern collar.  It’s also made here in the USA, and I felt good about supporting domestic production.  I love the piece, and rearranged my closet last night so that better pieces, like this one, are on one side while the other stuff is on the other side.  My hope is that eventually I’ll have nothing but tee shirts and a couple of knock-around items on the one side, and a fully-functional, flexible wardrobe on the other.

The jacket was originally pricey, but I had good timing and it was deeply discounted as the store prepares for Spring stock.  Yay!

Last night I played at assembling outfits, featuring my new acquisition, in preparation for the upcoming shoot for a recruiting video in which I’ll have a small part. Which outfit do you prefer?

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Shelley / Jan 30 2012 12:11 am

    I would vote for Outfit 1. The lighter blouse contrasting with the black pulls the eye up to your face. Most people with fair colouring benefit from having light colours near their face instead of black. I quite liked #3 as well, I think because the yellow was so refreshing. What about a light scarf to complement the skirt? I think you’ll get a lot of use out of that lovely blouse!

  2. ilegirl / Jan 30 2012 12:50 pm

    Thanks, Shelley. I’m definitely going with the blouse. It’s the kind of print I like – paisley, not floral and not a busy abstract – so it reflects some of my personality (not stuffy) but it’s still businesslike.

Trackbacks

  1. Style and fit « ilegirl

Leave a Reply

