Skip to content
February 4, 2012 / ilegirl

My 15 minutes

I am one of several employees featured in an upcoming recruitment video arranged by my company’s Organizational Development Department.

Funny, how the acronym for Organizational Development Department is ODD, yes?

The video is intended to focus on how the company tends to promote from within, and offer a good work/life balance.  To that end, featured employees were asked to participate in an interview session, and then be filmed doing something outside of work.

After some stress over what to wear, an impulsive haircut, and eleventh-hour root touch-up, here’s what I looked like the morning of the shoot:

It was a mini adventure for me.  I enjoyed watching the spectacle:  equipment rolled up on carts, lights set up, sound checks, adjusting the blinds in my office, a puff of powder being applied to my t-zone, and the recruitment of various and sundry folk to participate ‘spontaneously’.

The crew was very nice, and though casual also quite professional.  It must be an interesting job to produce these corporate videos, working to create a complete story and having to rely on people such as myself, who are not actors by trade, to punctuate the white space.

For the life outside of work segment, my friend Jenn drove Sadie up to my office, and we walked in a nearby neighborhood.   Given that I work a full 30 minutes from my home, this was an  incredibly generous and amazing thing for her to do, proving once more how fortunate I am to have such a cool person in my small circle of friends.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Shelley / Feb 4 2012 12:58 am

    I hate being photographed, but being filmed is ever worse! I think you should be extra pay for services beyond the call!

  2. Shelley / Feb 4 2012 12:59 am

    I think I should read what I type before I hit enter… I think you should *get* extra pay…

  3. ilegirl / Feb 4 2012 10:55 am

    🙂

    You might find it surprising, given that I have posted pics of myself, that I am very uncomfortable being photographed as well. To my mind, the video crew did a good job helping me feel comfortable. The more challenging part for me was the interview, during which I knew the focus was solely on me, whereas in the other segments it was me in the context of a group. I honestly don’t know how I got through it without sweating clear through my clothes.

    My ‘payment’ was some good-natured teasing from coworkers afterwards!

Leave a Reply

