Skip to content
February 4, 2012 / ilegirl

Pi and Mighty

A few weeks ago I decided to look for a gold-tone pi-shaped pin.

Sadly, no luck!  The search was rather frustrating as well.  I found silver-tone metals, but nothing in the gold range.   All I wanted was a simple pi pin to wear every day.  It soon became clear I’d need to have this made.

A google search yielded the aptly-named Custom Made site, and I entered the specs.  A few days later I checked for messages and had received a handful of proposals.  I selected Laura Friedman of  lsf | designs in metal, due to her portfolio and her quote, which was within my range.   We exchanged a few messages to refine the concept, and it was overall a very easy process.

I received the pin yesterday, and I love it!  I wore it today; first (as shown below) on my coat, then once I was indoors and the coat hung up I moved it to my vest where I could look down and enjoy it all day.

I’m already plotting the next project: a token of recognition for employees who complete an internal process certification I created.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Shelley / Feb 4 2012 12:56 am

    So, if it’s not too personal a question, what is the significance of this Greek letter for you?

  2. ilegirl / Feb 4 2012 10:49 am

    I love numbers, and I think pi is pretty cool because it is used as the constant for so many formulae – most famously, that of the circle. A bonus is that I find the symbol attractive too.

Leave a Reply

