Skip to content
February 7, 2012 / ilegirl

Get me to the church on time

I have an affinity for lace wedding dresses.  I think this is because when I was planning my wedding I was very young, and was too easily talked out of the vintage dress I had selected – which admittedly needed some netting repaired – and wore something which, while pretty, was not truly my style.  It was, in fact, an elder sister’s wedding dress, altered to fit me.

This wasn’t too irritating at the time.  I didn’t want to be bothered about many wedding details as I felt like the formality of a wedding ceremony was merely something to be tolerated in order to appease our families.  We had originally wished to elope, but the mention of this caused eruptions of displeasure with both families.   ** sigh **

25 years later, I’ve decided that I wish I could re-do my wedding and wear a lace gown.  I found a couple at Wedding Inspirasi, each of which I find charming for different reasons.

The 1930’s dress is available either sleeveless or, as I’ve shown above, with butterfly sleeves.  I like the sleeved version,as it looks pure, innocent and sweet.

The 1940’s dress is not exactly sweet and innocent.  Sure, the drape neck is modest, but the deep back drape is a sexy counterpoint.   It’s pretty and sophisticated at the same time.

I was at the fabric store on Sunday morning with a friend, and shared my wedding-dress saga with her as we waited in line for the cashier.  The woman ahead of us turned around and said she had the same experience with her family.  I wonder how many other women out there share a variation on this story?

Perhaps one day my husband and I will decide we want to do a vow-renewal ceremony.  It’s doubtful, but possible.  And if we do so, I’ll be sure to seek out a pretty lace dress for the occasion.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Shelley / Feb 9 2012 7:00 am

    My mother made my first wedding dress out of white velvet, with full sleeves and long cuffs with many tiny covered buttons. It fastened down the back with more tiny covered buttons. The hem and the (shortish) train were trimmed in white lace butterflies. I always trusted my Mom’s taste and was happy with the dress (even though I’d like to have cancelled the wedding near the date). For my second wedding, she made me a knee length skirt and top with a peplum and a matching hat of rose coloured silk, trimmed in white lace. I went and bought a grey-blue dress with a jacket for my last wedding.

  2. ilegirl / Feb 9 2012 9:45 pm

    Wow the velvet dress sounds gorgeous! Do you have pictures of it? And how fortunate, in so many ways, to have it made by your mother. That is a loving gesture.

Leave a Reply

