Skip to content
February 11, 2012 / ilegirl

The Aha! Week

Awful week at work.  Specifically, Friday was one of those days which might be described as ‘disastrous’ without running too far afoul of the truth.

But I have to add, the week is ending on a great note!   It was Closet Housewives night, and while some baked and decorated cookies for their respective squeezes, I focused on crafting a card for my honey.

But wait – that’s not all!

I had a style breakthrough.  Well, it’s probably completely obvious to my friends, but I finally understood, and concluded that, brown is my color, and red can be iffy.

Here is my interpretation of mixed chocolates.  White chocolate base layer, 80% cocoa dark chocolate trousers, 65% cocoa sweater, and a bit of milk chocolate in the scarf.  I felt great wearing this very simple outfit, and craved sweets all day.  Sadie was inspired too, probably thinking that all that brown meant there must be chocolate somewhere.

I forgot to put on my glasses before taking these shots.  Which just goes to show how nasty-stressful the week was, as I’m pretty well blind without them.

  • Turtleneck:  Ralph Lauren
  • Cashmere pullover:  Sofie
  • Trousers:  Ann Taylor
  • Scarf: thrifted many moons ago, tagless
  • Shoes: Clarks

 

5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Shelley / Feb 12 2012 7:51 am

    Brown does indeed suit you! I like the light colour (white chocolate, yum!) next to your face, too.

  2. Shelley / Feb 12 2012 7:52 am

    Oh, and I meant to say that I’ve enjoyed reading about the Closet Housewives! It sounds like a wonderful group to be part of.

  3. ilegirl / Feb 12 2012 9:53 pm

    Thanks, Shelley. I think the white base layer helps make the look work, as that much dark color right up against my face might just be too jarring.

    Closet Housewives is always fun and particularly Friday was great. We had an eclectic group of ladies, which for me helps to stimulate my creative thinking!

  4. icyslayergirl / Feb 27 2012 12:33 pm

    That is a really nice color on you and the scarf is a nice touch! Very smart outfit but looks comfortable too! I like it!!! I need more color and really should get away from the black…

  5. ilegirl / Feb 27 2012 10:25 pm

    Thanks!

    I did black for a long time, and it’s a pretty awful color on me. Now that I’m older than I once was … even worse.

    I struggle soooo much with color though! I was thrilled to discover that brown works for me.

Leave a Reply

