Skip to content
February 13, 2012 / ilegirl

Casual Friday

Last Friday I wore this very casual outfit to work.

What works for me: the warm beige stripes in the sweater.  And (below) the dark brown vest was a layer I added at the last minute, atop a little cotton jacket, and needed when the weather turned chilly late in the day.  I like the outfit best with these additional layers.  I think it’s the collars that make a big difference here in pulling the look together.  An alternative might have been a scarf that tied the beige from the sweater together with the army-green of the trousers; I have such a one, so I’ll have to try that the next time I put these pieces together.  The advantage to using a scarf here would be elevating the look from very casual to casual.

As I mentioned in an earlier post, last week was rough, and Friday particularly trying.  The casual comfort of the outfit was functional.

But truly, I feel this look is too casual even for a casual Friday at work.  The outfit has more of a weekend relaxation vibe than a I-manage-a-big-payroll kind of message.  I’m not sure if I really want to send the latter message, but it’s the truth and maybe I ought to consider reconciling the reality of my work with the manner in which I present myself.  But then, maybe there’s something fundamentally wrong about the dichotomy at its foundation; food for thought!

  • Sweater – DKNY
  • Trousers – Larry Levine
  • Jacket – Tweeds
  • Vest – Eddie Bauer
2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Shelley / Feb 15 2012 1:30 am

    I think it was Small Notebook (a blogger) who wrote about the value of 3 piece dressing for raising the game.

  2. ilegirl / Feb 15 2012 10:32 pm

    Cool! I’ll have to check out that blog.

    And a good point that is – layers are a girl’s best friend. The sweater is cute, but the cardi and vest act like accessories in a look like this. As I mentioned in the post, a scarf might have worked as well, without the vest.

Leave a Reply

