Skip to content
February 15, 2012 / ilegirl

Something’s wrong with this picture

Actually, more than one thing is wrong with this picture.  But, it’s a good one from which I can learn.  As Dashing Eccentric has told me on a couple of occasions, knowing what doesn’t work is an important contribution to discovering one’s personal style.

So, first:  my camera technique needs work.  The photo is all fuzzy, from picking an area with poor lighting and a background color which is truly unflattering.

Next, the jacket.  Oh geez – what was I thinking when I bought this?

The trousers need to be tailored.  I struggled with the waist, and had to cinch it beyond all reason with a belt.

So what worked for me?

The cashmere turtleneck was perfect for the day, and the scarf helped me to feel pulled together even when I removed the jacket.

The shoes were comfy all day.

  • Jacket – Doki-Geki (originally had a bow sewn on the front at the hook-and-eye closure, which I removed)
  • Turtleneck – Charter Club Cashmere
  • Scarf – Casual Corner (!! had this scarf forever)
  • Trousers – Ann Taylor
  • Shoes – Clarks
5 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Shelley / Feb 16 2012 8:42 am

    I can’t reliably tell the colours on my screen. Your hair looks a strawberry blonde, which would lead me to believe you had warm (spring) colouring. The sweater looks grey or possibly taupe, which would suit a person with cool colouring. The jacket might be beige or it might be more golden. Maybe it’s just because you have your hand on your hip, but it looks as though it might be a bit large on you. The scarf looks to be a cream colour with a bit of peach on the end. No idea how close my screen is to your reality! Computers (and cameras) are funny that way. I normally stick with cool colours for myself – even my red hair had a burgundy almost blue-ish cast to it. Brown is the exception and I’ve no idea why I feel so comfortable in brown. Maybe I was a brown dog in a previous life? (Just kidding…)

  2. ilegirl / Feb 16 2012 6:53 pm

    The jacket is a sort of greenish-silver, and it’s headed straight for the consignment bag! It’s truly ugly.

    I didn’t think about the sweater color being more suitable for a cool complexion, but now that I do I believe you are correct. I am definitely warm, probably slightly more in the fall area than spring as pastels don’t look very good on me. Too bad, as I love the warmth of the cashmere. I’d struggled with it the past few weeks (it was a gift) and never felt right – now I understand why.

  3. ilegirl / Feb 16 2012 6:55 pm

    Lucky that you can wear cool colors! Brown is a great neutral for a lot of people. I’m not that crazy about the brown trousers in the photo, truth be told – and not just because they need some tailoring.

  4. tiny junco / Apr 9 2012 4:38 am

    ha! that jacket’s the kind of thing that’s made for me, tho not what i really enjoy wearing these days. I cracked up when i saw it! You *can* get away with those too big trousers though, your legs are such a nice shape you look like you’re doing it on purpose. quite insouciant! steph

    • ilegirl / Apr 9 2012 6:51 pm

      True – that jacket would look great on you.

      The trousers have grown on me. I’ve been wearing them frequently in recent weeks. The brown color works well with the palette I’m developing.

Leave a Reply

