Skip to content
February 18, 2012 / ilegirl

Seeing Red

Red is a risky color for me.

Yep, I realize it’s the particular shade of red that is problematic.  Reds with a cool, or even moderately warm, undertone are simply not flattering.  The shade must have a high-warmth undertone to work for me; those with lots of orange work pretty well.

This sweater is fine, but I don’t love the look.  The shape is pretty good for me, and I think the ties on the sleeves, as well as the sleeve length, are attractive.  However, I think I need to play around with underlayers a bit to find the right balance, as the grey feels like a cold distraction.

  • Turtleneck: Reference Point
  • Red cardi: Anne Klein
  • Trousers: Chico’s
  • Necklace: gift; my eldest sister had it made for me!
2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Shelley / Feb 19 2012 12:08 am

    Have you ever ‘had your colours done’? Sounds very 1980s – that’s when I had my consultation. I didn’t follow it to the letter, but I never again tried to wear colours like chartreuse or mustard or peach, there were too many others that were far more flattering – and just plain easier. It is a pretty top, mind. Perhaps a brown jacket on top? Or a cream coloured scarf? The shape is great, too. Actually, it’s your shape that makes the it look good. You are enviably slender. Lucky you!

  2. ilegirl / Feb 19 2012 12:24 pm

    Funny you should mention having my colors done – recently, I’ve considered doing so. I have such a struggle with color!

    I do like the shape of the top. It’s flattering to my generally lean frame, and it rather disguises the fact that a few crunches now and again would help eliminate some flab.

Leave a Reply

