Skip to content
February 19, 2012 / ilegirl

Discovery

I’ve discovered Boden.

Rather, Boden discovered that I order things from catalogs, and brought itself to my attention by magically arriving in my mailbox.

Laidback Linen Dress

Frankly, there are few clothing catalogs that catch my eye as much as this one.  First, the sporty yet decidedly feminine styling of the garments is appealing to me, as I’m inclined toward comfort.  Second, garment details are apparent even through typical catalog photography:  contrasting linings, color finishes, soft pleating and lots of high-cotton-content fabrics tempt me.  Third, the catalog itself contains some whimsical elements such as clever layering, personal questions answered by the models just about every second page (‘What male obsession will you never understand?”), and outfit concepts toward the end.

Long Sleeve Breton Top

Boden scratched an itch – I’ve been frustrated at the proliferation of striped 3/4-length cotton knit tops (I have a thing about 3/4-length sleeves, which may become the topic of a separate post), or rather the dearth of a long-sleeved variety of same, and voila!  The Long Sleeve Breton Top!

Silk Spot Top

 Bonus too – the clearance section contains some nice items suitable for wear during the coming months – including this Silk Spot Top which I like in Raisin-Rasberry.

The down-side: the pics in the online catalog require too much intervention to display at a higher-res for my tastes; I’m too lazy to fiddle with them so am only sharing thumbnails – though they are each linked to the relevant item should you wish to click through.

Browsing through the catalog thoroughly has taken a couple of days’ worth of breaks between laundry, dishes and the like – it’s dense and appropriately filled with eye candy.  The best part, though, is that it has me thinking about adding a new color to my repertoire: blue.

For example, the Breton top above is offered in a cream with navy stripes, which appeals to my inner minimalist.  I hadn’t seen this possibility before, and now I’m keen to try it.  Dark-on-light is a contrast to which I’m drawn for its clean, decisive, energetic look.  Black is generally a bit harsh against the backdrop of my coloring and age, unless worn as a bottom or coordinated with lighter, more colorful garments.  Blue, however, is softer.  I’m not particularly fond of blue, truth be told, as it – like red and black – can render me rather cadaverous-looking by draining every bit of color from my face.  Navy, however, is supposed to be a neutral, and it’s a shade I wore before as a kid without looking like the Grim Reaper was just about to whisk me off, so it’s worth a shot.

6 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Shelley / Feb 20 2012 3:10 am

    Oh, now I’m going to be really envious. Boden does velvet jackets, but the do not do petites. They have lovely clothes though! Navy would probably suit you, but I’m thinking teal would be gorgeous on you, no? I like 3/4 length sleeves in their place… or rather time (spring/fall), but Long Sleeves are required in winter, definitely! Oh for a Petite Boden…or wider shoulders!?

    • ilegirl / Feb 20 2012 7:13 pm

      I’m so happy to be the bearer of good news: Boden is now making some of their things in petite sizes!

      • Shelley / Feb 23 2012 3:07 pm

        OMG! Now my pocketbook is in serious danger!!! Thanks so much for sharing!

      • ilegirl / Feb 24 2012 6:53 pm

        🙂

  2. stufffast.blogspot.com / Feb 22 2012 12:35 pm

    I love looking at the Boden catalog. Almost as addictive as J. Crew!

    • ilegirl / Feb 24 2012 6:52 pm

      Yes indeed! I find myself thumbing through it over and over.

Leave a Reply

