Skip to content
February 21, 2012 / ilegirl

Make up your mind, please

I have a pet peeve about 3/4-length sleeve knits.  This, despite owning a few such garments.

Why, you might ask?

I find the 3/4 length sleeve the epitome of sleeve length indecision.  I find them quite impractical as, worn by itself, useful for neither summer nor winter and therefor limited to a mere 2 seasons.  I find them difficult to layer, as I must hold the sleeve a bit to avoid having it push up beneath a topper, but not so much as to stretch the material out of shape.  I find them superfluous, as if I am too warm I might push up a long sleeve and achieve the same effect – in what I feel is a cuter look anyhow.

Seriously, what's the point of this? The cowl neck tells me this is for warmth, but the sleeves leave part of the arm bare!

The reason I own a few is that they are ubiquitous and, as a consequence, I’ve had trouble locating fitted long-sleeve knits when Spring wardrobe shopping.  I’ve succumbed and purchased a small handful only to have something to put on.   Bless Boden for being an exception to this by offering long sleeve tops even for this mild season.

The 3/4 sleeves are scrunched up to the elbow. Make up your mind: long or short!

I do not understand the genesis of this sleeve length.  I had hoped this was a transitory trend, which would give way to reason and practicality, but have been disappointed to see them persist season after season.

The epitome of indecision

Do any of you have such pet peeves about a particular cut or style?

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Shelley / Feb 23 2012 3:08 pm

    I think they pulled off 3/4 length for a while, harking back to the 50s and calling it ‘bracelet length’. But that should have been a transitory trend. Now I think it’s about cheating on the fabric and charging the same or more…but then perhaps I’m too skeptical…

    • ilegirl / Feb 24 2012 6:55 pm

      Shelley, I tend to think it’s a conspiracy as there are such adorable tops with that sleeve length and all mean I’ll be just plain cold if I wear them.

  2. respect the shoes / Feb 24 2012 5:37 pm

    I actually like the 3/4 length because I’m short and most full-length sleeves are too long for me! Plus I find myself pushing my sleeves up all the time anyways – I am like one of those kids who can’t keep their long cuffs clean!

    • ilegirl / Feb 24 2012 6:58 pm

      I’m 5’4″ and have the same issue with skirt lengths – thank goodness for petite sizes! But it’s a funny thing that petite tops are often not as well proportioned, so I can see your dilemma.

Leave a Reply

