Skip to content
March 4, 2012 / ilegirl

Hunting for clues

Discovering my style preferences is an ongoing journey.  Today is occurred to me that understanding what I reach for at the end of the day, and why, may provide clues as well as cues to that end.

As it’s winter, and I’m easily chilled through, after work I frequently reach for a slightly careworn, triple-layer hip-length, oversized green shawl-collar cashmere pullover.  Typically this is layered over a lighter-color cami, tank or cotton tee, and for bottoms I slip into grey cotton lounge pants and scuff slippers.

I found the piece at a thrift store in premium, never-worn condition 11 years ago, and with the exception of one winter when I left it in storage it’s been worn frequently during cooler weather.  I’ve had it repaired twice.  On weekends I’ve been known to wear it out into the Real World cinched at the waist with a narrow belt.

I love this sweater.  Truly.  The heft means it’s soft and warm, and supplies some performance to the shawl collar in that it may be turned inward should my upper chest and neck require additional insulation.  Its unconstricting fit is comfortable, and as the seams lay flat I can wear it while napping without encountering annoying lumps.  On a few cold nights, I’ve pulled it over pjs and slept in it.

I also like the way it looks on me.  I do not know precisely why, either.  The dark green color is not a shade I ordinarily wear nor consider flattering.  It’s too large, so it doesn’t really flatter my frame.  I begin to suspect that I like the way it looks on me because it feels good when I wear it, and so I generally feel comfortable and more relaxed than usual while it’s on.  As I commented on a recent Respect the Shoes post, I feel constricted by the tailored pieces which work best with my body type, and daydream about wearing the sort of drapey, chunky garments which flow and move and can accommodate the effects of a large dinner.

If I dissect this a bit more, I find a few characteristics of the sweater which might translate to Real World wear:

  • shawl collar – generally flattering
  • soft hand – comfortable, warm and flexible knit material
  • quality construction – flat seams, hefty knit
One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Shelley / Apr 7 2012 5:22 am

    Yep, you noticed that you like larger clothes, too. Funny that, you don’t look like you have very many large dinners! 🙂

Leave a Reply

