Skip to content
March 11, 2012 / ilegirl

Warmth

A bit of wintrish weather a couple of weeks ago, punctuated by some chilly rain, led me to select some winter-appropriate outfits.

Outfit 1

I’m on the fence about the colors in Outfit 1.  The purplish-pink is nice and noisy, and I have an affinity for argyle (which is what led me to acquire this in the first place) but I always have the question in my mind: is this actually flattering?

Outfit 2

Outfit 2 is, by contrast, very much on the safe side as it’s neutrals-heavy and easy to wear.

Outfit 1

  • Argyle cashmere pullover – Banana Republic
  • Turtleneck – Massimo
  • Trousers – Ann Taylor
  • Necklace – pearls, a gift from one of my sisters
  • Shoes – Aetrex
Outfit 2
  • Turtleneck – L.L. Bean
  • Jacket – Babette
  • Trousers – Jones Sport by Jones New York
  • Shoes – Clarks
  • Necklace – unknown – bought about 20 years ago as a gift for someone else but liked it so much I kept for myself!
  • Pi pin – Laura Friedman – lsf Designs in Metal through Custom Made

 

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Shelley / Apr 7 2012 5:19 am

    Actually, I think the argyle does look good on you, not something I would have expected to be able to say. I do think you could wear a smaller size in trousers, you seem to lean towards quite large sizes; have you ever noticed this? It’s not an uncommon thing for women to do I gather.

    • ilegirl / Apr 7 2012 7:51 am

      I think it’s the angle of the shot, really. The trousers aren’t all that big. My challenge is having non-standard proportions; first, makes trousers a tough fit for me even though I prefer them from a coverage and comfort perspective, and second makes them look a big frowsy.

      I need to work on my camera technique – am not much talented in the shutterbug department!

  2. ilegirl / Apr 7 2012 7:51 am

    Oh and thanks for the kind words about the argyle sweater – and I think I’ve come about to like the main color in the sweater after all.

Leave a Reply

