Skip to content
March 28, 2012 / ilegirl

A learning moment

After a bit of a wince when reviewing this photo, I realized this was a learning moment.

I could beat myself up for how awful this looks, or reflect thoughtfully and analyze why I pulled the pieces out of my closet, and what I can do about it.

First, I have to clarify something:  the tunic is pretty.  Really.  You have to see it up close – it’s not quite paisley, but it’s a paisley-like print.  And the fabric is a soft cotton-and-linen blend, with a dense ribbon trim.  I like a lot about it: the decisive but not screaming-hot colors, the pretty print, the wonderful fabric, and the drape of it.

Except, there’s too much drape to suit my frame.  I like to be comfortable, but this looks nearly like maternity wear.  I feel the lack of definition when I’m wearing it. There is nothing inherently wrong with a loose drape, but it feels wrong for me.

I’m going to give it another try, though.  I’ll add a belt the next time, to see whether that tames the beast and provides some shape.  If it doesn’t work, then off to the consignment store.

  • Tunic – Charter Club
  • Turtleneck – Reference Point
  • Trousers – Jones New York
  • Loafers – Madeline
2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Shelley / Apr 7 2012 5:13 am

    It is a very pretty tunic – but all tunics are loose, that’s why people love them so much. I’d argue that the reason you don’t like how it looks is because you are wearing a loose top with loose-fitting trousers. I suspect if you found some skinny jeans or jeggings or the like you’d be happier with the loose tunic. Just a guess.

    • ilegirl / Apr 7 2012 7:47 am

      Alas, I am not proportioned in such a manner that skinny jeans or jeggings are flattering. So I’ll try the belt and see what happens.

Leave a Reply

