Skip to content
April 9, 2012 / ilegirl

Hinting at stripes

I still like the way the stripes peep through the sweater.  Yet not mad for this look.  It’s functional but not entirely flattering on its own.

Adding the belt made a significant difference.  The outfit sort of hung shapeless over my frame until I cinched it.  Accessories not only add some finishing touches, they can change the silhouette entirely.

I think the issue is the lack of bold or bright color.  Something committed.

  • Trousers – Jones New York Sport
  • Turtleneck – unknown (thrifted, no label)
  • Cashmere pullover – Charter Club
  • Belt – unknown (no label, vintage, altered to size)
  • Black wedges – Aetrex
2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. respect the shoes / Apr 10 2012 1:12 pm

    I’m a huge fan of belting everything – I used to be scared of belts because I don’t have much of a waist, but belting really makes a difference! My BF though – he doesn’t get it. Belts to him are purely functional. ;o)

    • ilegirl / Apr 10 2012 7:39 pm

      I think belts are all the more important when the waist is in … well … when the waist is hibernating. Yeah, we’ll go with that! Mine has been in hibernation for about 18 months. Belts are my friend.

      But seriously, they add a little something to an outfit that might be otherwise lacking in character, such as that one above. Not terribly interesting on its own, but a little less drab with the addition of the belt.

      Bah – what is it with some men about accessories?

Leave a Reply

