Skip to content
April 14, 2012 / ilegirl

Growing older without grace

Recall that old TV commercial, where the model says I won’t grow old gracefully – I plan on fighting it every step of the way?

I feel that way about my feet.

My feet are growing older.  Just like my other parts, my feet are showing their age by complaining more loudly now than ever that cushioning and support are necessary.

I love shoes.  LOVE.  <3.  I don’t want to be uncomfortable, and I want cute shoes. I don’t want to resort to the quintessential old lady shoes.  Not yet – I’m not quite old enough.

Ran across a new brand in my ongoing quest for interesting and comfortable shoes:  Blondo.  Blondo is a Canadian company with some interesting designs, and some of the styles look extraordinarily comfortable.  Here are 3 examples.

Blondo Hermione in Fudge

I’m not a big fan of the instep strap, as these remind me too much of the stiff patent mary-janes I had to wear to church every Sunday as a child.  Even as a kid I had that princess-and-the-pea thing going with footwear; apparently, it’s a hereditary thing as my mom also has tender tootsies and does what I do: changes her shoes at least once during the day.

However, these Hermione shoes are not your typical mary-janes.  It’s particularly apparent in this shade called Fudge, which has a dusty distressed look reminding me a bit of several Fidji styles.  These slingbacks look super comfy and cute for both trouser and skirt wear.

Blondo Leiko in Ice Multi

These were the pair which first caught my eye, shown here with orange and yellow accents that are so retro and fun.  The insole, though, is what might propel me to purchase these:  8 mm of cushioning at the heel and 4 mm at the toe.

Blondo Zara in Denim Blue

These are the bonus sport sandals I may require for Summer 2012.  Pretty, functional, and available in a great variety of colors.  I love this blue with the varied shades and a bit of lasering, but like the Leiko the real selling point for me is the cushioning – an unusual amount of it for a flat sandal.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Shelley / Apr 14 2012 10:20 pm

    I, too, love shoes and I can’t tolerate blisters, etc. Also, walking is a firm part of my lifestyle. I’ve given in to granny shoes for the moment, but my blog reading has given me some ideas for shoes to investigate. I’m not prepared to buy online without knowing they will work, so I’ll just have to look for these in shops:

    ECCO, Think!, Dansko, Naot, Rieker, Beautifeel, Arche, Clif

    Also, London Sole ballet sneakers and the lady who suggested these also buys orthotics to put into her shoes, which then means buying a slightly larger size. I’ve not tried any of these, but you might want to consider them.

    Info from: Privilege, Vivienne Files, Daily Connoisseur

  2. ilegirl / Apr 16 2012 5:11 pm

    Nice hot tip on those London Sole flats! I like flats, and my flat feet like flats as they tend to accommodate the arch strap I so frequently wear better than heels.

    I’ve tried Ecco. Meh. They do not make my flat feet happy. I’ve seen Think! at a local comfort-shoe store, and there are some snazzy styles. I had a pair of orange Naot Matai which had a too-tight instep strap but wonderful footbed. I’ll have to check out Clif. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

