Skip to content
December 22, 2012 / ilegirl

About those shoes …

The Taryn Rose shoes from September have not exactly met my needs.

They are really cute, but unfortunately, not comfortable.  I expected this shoe, which is designed by an orthopedic surgeon and retails for $219, to be outfitted with all sorts of wonderful comfort features.  Alas, every so wrong!  They offer zero arch support, and have a flexible inset which wreaks havoc on my toes; the last time I wore them without a supporting insert, I was hobbling by early afternoon.  I added an insert, which helps and will salvage them long enough for me to locate a suitable replacement flat.

So sad, as they are awfully cute.  And I’m off this brand too.  I don’t like being negative about a brand because I have such admiration for someone who has both energy and courage to launch into the fashion world, and with such a variety of figures and such I realize that fit can be really iffy.  But really in this case I’m irritated; someone who is an orthopedic surgeon simply ought to know better than to have a shoe built that offers no cushioning, no support, and an overly flexible thin sole.

I’m still looking for comfortable flats suitable for work.  Any suggestions would be most welcome!

In the meantime, I have a work event early next month requiring a certain edgy attitude, and I believe myself to have located an appropriate shoe, Jambu’s Envy.

Jambu Envy

I work for a conservative company, though dress code is business casual, but this event requires (1) conveying that status quo is no longer acceptable; (2) being on my feet most of the afternoon and evening.  I was toying with the idea of some Miz Moos, but these ought to do just fine.

 

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Shelley / Dec 22 2012 10:55 pm

    When I became a runner I learned that people have different needs in running shoes, I have a neutral foot, but others need stability to correct over pronation. There are others still, I can’t recall what they are called, but they are very prone to injury running so far on the outside edge of their feet. The fault of the shoes might be that they were made for a different foot type, or with the manufacture of the design. Whatever the reason, I’d be very annoyed to have spent that amount of money for an uncomfortable shoe, particularly one which raises the expectations of their buyers. I buy shoes at Clarks these days, at least my everyday walking around shoes. I don’t think the would satisfy your first criterion, though!

  2. ilegirl / Dec 23 2012 10:40 am

    I have some Clarks booties, and really like them. I’m very hard on shoes, and these held up well for over a year. They have a wedge with nice cushioning, and good arch support. It’s a good brand, and I feel like the company has a consistent quality control process. I recently bought some Viva inserts and expect these will extend the useful life of these shoes for another year.

    I purchased the Taryn Rose shoes at considerable discount from http://www.6pm.com. I’m glad I didn’t pay retail! I don’t mind paying retail for cross-trainers because to a large degree you get what you pay for; I’ve tended to buy Asics for my brisk morning walks, though the current pair are Ahnus that I like quite well.

Leave a Reply

