Skip to content
February 17, 2013 / ilegirl

Early Spring 2013 Comfort

Early Spring 2013 Comfort
The word comfortable has been misinterpreted by many to mean lazy and bland.  I submit that it – in the context of style – it ought to be interpreted as what feels good on the body, and what contributes to a sense of well-being.
For example, this outfit may be comfortable on the body.  Knit top, some nice drape and natural stretch in the wool-blend trousers, a cushy platform shoe, a scarf to keep the neck warm on chilly spring mornings, and a soft cardigan.  For me, this would also make me feel good to wear as it fits my style: simple, layered, and in my colors.
Too often I (like many, many others) fall victim to the common misconceptions about what one must wear, prescribing a crisp white shirt (which will make me twitch and fuss as the cold fabric brushes against my skin), heels (which must be removed several times a day, at the end of which my poor toes will be cramping like the dickens), and structured, lined blazer (which will be summarily removed once the important meetings of the day end, to be replaced by a fleece jacket).  For each of the pieces I mention, there is a suitable alternative which is comfy for me.
One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. Shelley / Feb 17 2013 11:10 pm

    Lovely pieces. Not sure how gracefully one might walk in those shoes, but at least they wouldn’t hurt – and they are adorable!

Leave a Reply

