Skip to content
July 26, 2013 / ilegirl

Shoe revue part 5

A day at the San Francisco Zoo is always a pleasure, and with the promise of a deep and abiding fog today I knew it would be perfect weather for exploring while also enjoying the city.

But first things first: Siri dictated the turn-by-turn navigation calculated by Apple’s built-in Map app.  We were misdirected.  Twice.  Finally, using our finely-tuned sense of direction (tuned, that is, by a call to the zoo office for instructions), we arrived.

Image

Despite having been to the zoo at least 10 times in the past 25 years, I’d never before gone into the farm animals section of the Children’s Zoo. Today this friendly goat was kind enough to pose with me. I think he liked the shoes.

Anticipating a bit of walking about, I’d selected my only pair of Danskos, a mary-jane clodhopper.  I’d seen them deeply discounted at a local shoe boutique while in Victoria a few months ago, and after debating due to the questionable style I concluded that the price was too good to pass up and they weren’t so awful once on one’s feet after all.

Image

I wore them all day, and while my feet did become tired around 2 pm I experienced ZERO pain.

Verdict: keep

By the way, I’ve accepted the hair.  For now.  I did it my way, which was to blow it forward, then add a slight bit of gel to keep the ends poking out a bit.  I feel much better with a bit of spunk, as I get uncomfortable with something as conservative as the way it was styled yesterday.  I have some opinions in this area I might be inclined to share at a later date, but for now I’ll just say … when it comes to hair, my way is the right way for me, no matter what an ‘expert’ might tell me.

  • Cashmere pullover – Mendocino
  • Striped cotton v-neck – American Eagle Outfitters
  • Tank – ?? I cut the label out because it bothered me, and now I don’t recall the maker
  • Jeans – Levi’s 501s
  • Shoes – Dansko Harlow in Mahogany
Leave a Reply

